F(r)iction Literary Contests

Spring 2020 Contest is Now Open

Guest Judges Charlie Jane Anders, Devin Kelly, Alina Stefanescu, and Robert James Russell

$2,100 in Prizes — Deadline: April 30, 2020

F(r)iction is accepting previously unpublished works of short fiction, flash fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry. We accept submissions from writers located anywhere in the world, as long as the work is in English.

Our editorial staff favors stories that celebrate the weird, take risks, and are driven by a strong, unique voice. To best understand our style, we strongly recommend buying an issue of F(r)iction at the F(r)iction Shop.

Please visit our formatting guidelines page to properly format your work for submission. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but please notify us immediately if your work is selected for publication elsewhere. We encourage writers to submit as many pieces as they wish. All stories will be considered for publication in F(r)iction, our triannual print journal.

Short Story Judge

$1,000 Prize

Charlie Jane Anders‘s latest novel is The City in the Middle of the Night. She’s also the author of All the Birds in the Sky, which won the Nebula, Crawford, and Locus awards, and Choir Boy, which won a Lambda Literary Award. She’s also the author of a novella called Rock Manning Goes For Broke and a short-story collection called Six Months, Three Days, Five Others. Her story “Six Months, Three Days” won a Hugo Award and “Don’t Press Charges And I Won’t Sue” won a Theodore Sturgeon Award. Charlie Jane also organizes the Writers With Drinks reading series, and co-hosts the podcast Our Opinions Are Correct with Annalee Newitz.

Flash Fiction Judge

$300 Prize

Alina Stefanescu was born in Romania and lives in Birmingham, Alabama. She serves as Co-Director of PEN Birmingham. Her debut fiction collection, Every Mask I Tried On, won the Brighthorse Prize and was published in May 2018. Her writing can be found in diverse journals, including Prairie Schooner, North American Review, FLOCK, Southern Humanities Review, Virga, Whale Road Review, and others. She serves as Poetry Editor for Pidgeonholes, President of Alabama State Poetry Society, Co-Founder of 100,000 Poets for Change Birmingham, and proud board member of Magic City Poetry Festival. Her poetry collection, Defect/or, was a finalist for 2015 Robert Dana Poetry Award. A finalist for the 2019 Kurt Brown AWP Prize, the 2019 Greg Grummer Poetry Prize, the 2019 Frank McCourt Prize, and the 2019 Streetlight Magazine Poetry Contest, Alina won the 2019 River Heron Poetry Prize. More online at www.alinastefanescuwriter.com or @aliner

Poetry Judge

$300 Prize

Devin Kelly is the author of In This Quiet Church of Night, I Say Amen (Civil Coping Mechanisms) and the co-host of the Dead Rabbits Reading Series. He is the winner of a Best of the Net Prize, and his writing has appeared or is forthcoming in The Guardian, LitHub, Longreads, Catapult, DIAGRAM, Redivider, and more. He lives and teaches high school in New York City. 

Creative Nonfiction Judge

$500 Prize

Robert James Russell is the author of two novellas, Mesilla (Dock Street Press, 2015) and Sea of Trees (Winter Goose Publishing), as well as the chapbook Don’t Ask Me to Spell It Out (WhiskeyPaper Press). His work has been featured in numerous journals, print and online, and has been nominated eleven times for the Pushcart Prize, as well as five times for Best of the Net. Robert is the co-founder and editor-in-chief of the literary journals Midwestern Gothic and CHEAP POP. He is represented by Abby Saul of The Lark Group and is at work on a novel about grief, witches, forest cults, and long-simmering revenge in the north woods of Wisconsin. You can find him online at www.robertjamesrussell.com, and on Twitter and Instagram at @robhollywood.

Please note: We are unable to offer refunds for contest submissions, so please read the options and choose your submission category carefully. For poetry and flash fiction, you can submit ONE ENTRY or a THREE PACK.

F(r)iction reserves the right to not award a winner in any categories if the submissions do not reach a publishable standard. In this case, reading fees will NOT be refunded and a winner will not be announced. Although this has rarely come to pass in our six-year-publishing history, our top priority must remain with the quality of work we publish.